Diabetes Awareness & Eyelashes?

My good friend Cori owns I’m Beautiful salon and beautique in Draper, UT. She has always been gracious enough to support the Diabetes Mixers and other health related events in the community. In fact, she hosts the “Pretty in Pink” fashion show every fall in honor of breast cancer awareness! Her salon does such an amazing job, KUTV 2 News asked her to host a weekly feature on their Wednesday program.

Recently, Cori posted a message on Facebook, requesting new ideas for her KUTV 2 News beauty segment. A few weeks ago, I asked her if she would be interested in highlighting someting “blue” in honor of diabetes awareness. She loved the idea! Before I knew it, I was scheduled for eyelash extensions with the talented Aubrey Schut (with me in the picture above on set) so that a “blue smokey eye” could be highlighted on the next KUTV 2 News feature. The 2-minute eyelash extension and diabetes awareness clip was a huge success! In fact, someone called the salon wanting to chat with me about diabetes. Click here for a link to the full video.

Ever since I committed to wearing blue every Friday for an entire year to support Blue Fridays, I have been on a mission to promote diabetes awareness locally. Because of Cori, I’m Beautiful Salon, eyelash extensions, and KUTV 2 News, diabetes awareness reached thousands of Utahns that day! So yes, diabetes awareness can go hand in hand with anything, even eyelashes!

8 thoughts on “Diabetes Awareness & Eyelashes?

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and amusing,
    and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few folks
    are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that
    I found this during my search for something concerning this.

Leave a Reply

